top button
Flag Notify
    Connect to us
      Facebook Login
      Site Registration Why to Join

Facebook Login
Site Registration
Print Preview

Who was the only Chief of Air Staff to be given the rank of Marshall of the Indian Air Force?

+3 votes
posted Jun 10, 2016 by Swati Tyagi

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button Google+ Share Button LinkedIn Share Button Multiple Social Share Button

2 Answers

+1 vote

Arjan Singh was the first Air Chief to receive the Honour in 2002.

enter image description here
He is the only living Indian Army official with Five star Rank.

answer Sep 17, 2016 by Atindra Kumar Nath
0 votes

Chief of the Air Staff is the commander and the highest-ranking officer of the Indian Air Force. The position is abbreviated as CAS in the Indian Air Force cables & communication, and is usually held by a four-star officer of the rank Air Chief Marshal. The current CAS is Air Chief Marshal Arup Raha who took office on 31 December 2013 following the retirement of Air Chief Marshal Norman Anil Kumar Browne.

The position was held by an Air Commodore (1919–1923), by an Air Vice-Marshal (1923–1929) and by an Air Marshal (1929–1965). In 1966, the position was upgraded to that of an Air Chief Marshal. The highest rank in the IAF is Marshal of the Air Force, which is conferred by the President of India only in exceptional circumstances. It has only been given once in January 2002 to Marshal of the Indian Air Force Arjan Singh. This is a five-star rank and is equivalent to a Field Marshal in the Army.

answer Jun 10, 2016 by Shivaranjini
Contact Us
+91 9880187415
#280, 3rd floor, 5th Main
6th Sector, HSR Layout
Karnataka INDIA.